Camping with Bugs

Two items today: Necromunda Milliasaurs and some dog tents from Renedra.

I picked up the set of dog tents from the Renedra stand at Salute along with another item.

Although I already have three feral, teepee type tents painted up I wanted to have models that represented tents that might feasibly be moved around easily, either on a models back or on the saddle (animal or vehicle).  Although the models dont take up a lot of space, they are cute little gaming props that help to create atmosphere.

The Mutie faction in Gorkamorka doesnt use forts, being more nomadic in their behaviour.  The original (stupidly named) “Digganob” supplement for (the equally stupidly named) Gorkamorka came with a set of small cardboard tents to represent the Mutie encampment, but they were lost or squished in some house move or another over the years.  These cute little plastics will be a durable and very serviceable replacement.

Painting the tents was fast.  I didnt want to spend much time on them so I painted the pegs metallic (that suits the Gorkamorka setting better than wooden pegs and stopped the models from being 100% shades of brown) and then washed the entirety of the models with GW Gryphonne Sepia, twice.  I then washed them again with GW Devlan Mud and finally painted some black ink into the door flap edges.  Very quick but perfectly ok for what the models are.

The Milliasaurs are creepy crawlies from the GW Necromunda setting.  Like my Ripper Jacks and Giant Rats, they were originally supplied as servants of Necromunda Wyrd Beastmasters, who could use them to do their amoral bidding.

I gave the Milliasaurs a quick drybrush followed by a coat of Tamiya Clear Red on the chitin areas.  It gave a nice cockroach sort of look I think.  I did a tiny bit of detailing on the teeth and spines too.

They are creepy looking figures.  The guy rearing up would stand at about 150cm in real life, which would be a pretty appalling thing to find at the door of anyones tent I reckon.

4 Responses

  1. I saw those tents when I ordered some Renedra bases off the Warstore but I didn’t know how well they would scale with minis. Those look great!

    Like

  2. The Renedra tents are nice alright. The paintjob that I gave them was functional but fine for the purpose.

    Nice, durable little pieces suitable for gaming in all sorts of genres. I recommend them highly 🙂

    Thanks for the feedback!

    Like

  3. […] I was quite pleased with the very quickly applied painting scheme that I used on my Necromunda milliasaurs back in 2011, I decided to apply the same quick technique to this model.  That finish is very […]

    Like

  4. […]  I gave the neglected tents a similar quick and dirty, inky paint job to the one that I gave the other Renedra tents and Warhammer Goblin tee-pees a few years […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.