Gyrinx #2: Rampage

GyrinxRed

Gyrinx number 3

Not actually the second gyrinx, but the second post about gyrinx (whats the plural of gyrinx anyway?  “Gyrinx” surely, like “sheep”).  Its probably not going to be the last post about space cats around here either…

Sporadic bouts of good weather have disrupted my painting regime.  In this part of the world one has to make hay (or sit outside drinking wine, reading books and eating BBQ) while the sun shines, which isnt very often.  So painting output shrinks accordingly.  That said, after a discussion on the Lead Adventure Forum where I have been posting photos of my 40k skirmish stuff recently, I was inspired to paint the cat above from Black Cat Bases, so things havent ground completely to a halt at least.

Comparison Shot courtesy of http://deathworldadventures.blogspot.dk/

Comparison Shot courtesy of http://deathworldadventures.blogspot.dk/

It was pointed out by “Jonas” of Deathworld Adventures that the figure shown was quite similar in design and pose to the original Rogue Trader gyrinx and he kindly supplied the photo above to illustrate.  Jonas also light-heartedly pointed out that gyrinx are red in colour according to the background – a detail that I had chosen to ignore when painting my two previous gyrinx.

As a card carrying ailurophile and miniature hoarder I had one of the Black Cat Bases cat miniatures in question buried in Monté Figuero, so I decided to paint it in a variant of the official Rogue Trader colours.

Vulpix the Pokémon - courtesy of Bulbapedia

Vulpix the Pokémon – courtesy of Bulbapedia.

The Black Cat Bases cat is a bit odd looking, possibly a bit too cartoony to represent a Terran domestic cat.  But it is perfect for representing a space cat.

The colours worked out well, although the entire time that I was painting it was reminding me of something.  I thought that it might be the Pokémon “vulpix” but when I looked up images of vulpix it turned out that I was wrong.  Then, as I was looking at vulpix images it dawned on me that the painted model reminds me of the Firefox logo.

firefoxLogo

In the end I decided to name the red cat after the red cat member of the G1 Predacons.

Rampage

Not the most challenging paint job, but I am quite happy with how it turned out.  I am enjoying painting these little, cat sized projects and I am learning little things while I paint, which is nice.

Psychic, blind, future dark age cat fancier and associates.

Psychic, blind, future dark age cat fancier and associates.

4 Responses

  1. very nice indeed, you justcouldn’t resist it ;-), amazing paint jobs dude, I am loving it, Cat programme on bbc tonight http://www.tvguide.co.uk/detail.asp?id=159095555
    J

    Like

    • Thanks for the heads up about that show, I am definitely going to watch that. Although I have been a sci-fi geek since the late 70s I have only been a cat geek for the last seven years, so I have some catching up to do.

      Thanks for the painting compliments too. I enjoyed painting that little guy and I think that it shows.

      Like

  2. […] kitty is a production variant of this cat model, but with some scurvy accoutrements added.  My casting of the model wasnt great and the left eye […]

    Like

  3. […] time in my real life prepping miniature space cats for my imaginary life, as can be seen here, here, here, here, here, here and here.  A photo of the first one that I worked on, the imaginatively […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.