Rupture Farmers – DreadBall Judwan Team

The Rupture Farmers

The Rupture Farmers

Judwan are a disenfranchised pacifist alien race circumstantially forced to play DreadBall.  Their game style is a fast and nimble one that is exceptionally well suited to passing plays.  While judwan can wrong foot opponents with Feint/Misdirect, they cannot slam, foul or use the ball as a missile: judwan cannot inflict harm in any way.

RuptureFarms

RuptureFarms

In the main I have been naming my DreadBall teams after fictional evil corporations from various media.  For the judwan I decided to go for a theme based on the old Playstation 1 game, “Abes Oddysee”.

The eponymous hero of that game is a disenfranchised, lanky and largely pacifist humanoid creature called a mudokon in the employ of an evil corporation called RuptureFarms.  Mudokons bear a passing resemblance to judwan, so I went with a loose take on mudokon flesh when painting the team.

Abe and a judwan from the "Pelgar Mystics" team.  Not a perfect match, but close enough.

Abe and a judwan from the “Pelgar Mystics” team. Not a perfect match, but close enough.

All judwan are strikers and there are currently three poses available.  Two of the poses are a little rigid, so I heated the figures up with a hairdryer during assembly to add a little bit more animation.  It worked to an extent.

Striker 1

Striker 1

 The Farmers strip is a straightforward enough black and reddish-orange affair, with a little silver.  I think that the simple, slightly dark scheme works because the flesh tones are relatively complex in terms of colours used (if not necessarily applied with a huge amount of sophistication).

Against the dark surface of a DreadBall pitch attention is drawn to the brighter areas of the paint scheme, although against a white background (like in these photos) it loses a little.

Striker 2

Striker 2

 The judwan figures are very slight and would be a pain in the ass if they were made from metal, likely bending and possibly snapping.  On the other hand getting the mould lines off the resin models was very difficult because the figures are so thin – swings and roundabouts.

Striker 3

Striker 3

The judwan are currently considered the “broken” team in DreadBall tournament play, with good reason in many respects.  They are not unbeatable, but they are consummate opportunists.  Coaches will likely lose at least their first couple of games against judwan, until the opposition gets the hang of defending against them at the very least.

L to R: judwan, forgefather, judwan, human, judwan

L to R: judwan, forgefather, judwan, human, judwan

I dont hate the judwan models, but I was a little disappointed with them when I saw them first.  They have grown on me a bit and I quite like how the painting turned out, but if the two similar, rigid, disco-dancing poses looked as interesting (not necessarily as dynamic, but as interesting) as the running guy then they would look a lot better as a team.  Its not a deal breaker though.

 

L to R: judwan, orx, judwan, veer-myn, judwan

L to R: judwan, orx, judwan, veer-myn, judwan

2 Responses

  1. how do you paint your bases if I may ask

    Like

    • Hi Boyden

      1) I fill the gaps in the bases with ready mixed filler.
      2) I glue fine sand to the bases with PVA/white glue.
      3) I paint the base and sand with thinned black paint a couple of times.
      4) I drybrush the base with turquoise.
      5) I edge the Threat zone markings with turquoise.
      6) I then edge the threat zone markings with a mix of turquoise and white close to the corners.
      7) I add a little pure white to the corners.

      Thats it. If you try it then please send me a link to an image 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.